New Year Remix!

While working on the Crusades book for Soldiershop.com I was making up the sheets as I went to check everything looked ok and when I reached one set of figures every time I looked at them I thought, “Too dark”. Eventually I experimented with lightening up the fronts of the figures and was shocked (horrified?) by how much clearer the figures looked, especially if they have the black hatching I’m using to depict mail or armour. As a result the sheets in the Crusades book are much lighter and are, in my opinion, much more successful when made up into stands, especially when viewed from a distance.

I have, therefore, reworked all of the sheets available on the site to have consistent colour with the Crusades work, tidied up a lot of scrappy “painting” and corrected a lot of errors of placement of the figures. The sheets are available on the Download page (at the top of each section marked *Amended*) and all of the sheets for each army are now in one pdf.

Leave a comment