Work in progress: Crusader Armies

It’s been a long time since any updates to the blog, but work has been going on in the background… I thought it’s about time to share some pics of my current project for Soldiershop.com of armies from the time of the Crusades. I’m aiming to provide enough variety to cover the Franks from the First Crusade to the Horns of Hattin and their Seljuk/Ayyubid/Fatimid/Syrian adversaries. I’m about 85% done so can’t make any promises about when they will be available, but I can, finally, see the finish line. I have been experimenting with mounting the figures on 120mm bases for Impetus or To The Strongest!, I think the Paperboy format gives some pretty decent looking units at that size.

Ayyubid Mamluks (Toassin/Tawwashi?)
Turkish Ghulam Archers
Later Crusader Knights
Kingdom of Jerusalem Spearmen
Syrian Ahdath Militia
Sudanese ‘Abid Spearmen and Archers
An experiment with sizing – Syrian Askar Lancers and Turkish Ghulam Lancers and Archers @ 85% and mounted on 80mm bases. I think these look very jolly and suitable if you’re short of table space!
Digital versions for my Tabletop Simulator mod are also underway.

2 thoughts on “Work in progress: Crusader Armies

Leave a comment